Sign for Notice Everyday    Sign Up| Sign In| Link|

Our Sponsors

Receive Latest News

Share Us

LAW VI 2012 - The 6th Linguistic Annotation Workshop

View: 566

Website | Edit Freely

Category LAW VI 2012

Deadline: March 18, 2012 | Date: July 12, 2012-July 13, 2012

Venue/Country: Jeju, South Korea

Updated: 2011-12-03 15:19:14 (GMT+9)

Call For Papers - CFP

The 6th Linguistic Annotation Workshop (The LAW VI)

Sponsored by the ACL Special Interest Group on Annotation (SIGANN)

July 12-13, 2012

ICC Jeju

Jeju, Republic of Korea

Linguistic annotation of natural language corpora is the backbone of supervised methods of statistical natural language processing. The Sixth LAW will provide a forum for presentation and discussion of innovative research on all aspects of linguistic annotation, including creation/evaluation of annotation schemes, methods for automatic and manual annotation, use and evaluation of annotation software and frameworks, representation of linguistic data and annotations, etc. As in the past, the LAW will provide a forum for annotation researchers to both work towards standardization, best practices, and interoperability of annotation information and software.

The special theme for LAW VI is Collaborative Annotation (both community-based and crowd-sourced). The workshop will include a special session on this topic. We invite submissions relating to this theme as well as any aspect of linguistic annotation, including:

Collaborative annotation

? Issues, strategies, and results for community-based annotation of common (shared) resources

? Issues, strategies, and results for crowd-sourcing linguistic annotations

Annotation procedures:

? Innovative automated and manual strategies for annotation

? Machine learning and knowledge-based methods for automation of corpus annotation

? Creation, maintenance, and interactive exploration of annotation structures and annotated data

Annotation evaluation:

? Inter-annotator agreement and other evaluation metrics and strategies

? Qualitative evaluation of linguistic representation

Annotation access and use:

? Representation formats/structures for merged annotations of different phenomena, and means to explore/manipulate them

? Linguistic considerations for merging annotations of distinct phenomena

Annotation guidelines and standards:

? Best practices for annotation procedures and/or development and documentation of annotation schemes

? Interoperability of annotation formats and/or frameworks among different systems as well as different tasks, frameworks, modalities, and languages

Annotation software and frameworks:

? Development, evaluation and/or innovative use of annotation software frameworks

Annotation schemes:

? New and innovative annotation schemes

? Comparison of annotation schemes

Submission information

Submissions of long and short papers (8 and 4 pages respectively, excluding references) and demonstrations (4 pages) should be submitted electronically through the system at Submissions should conform to the official ACL 2012 style guidelines and be submitted in PDF. Reviewing will be blind, so submissions must not include the authors' names and affiliations. Please see the guidelines for submissions to the general ACL conference at for more information.

Important dates

Submission deadline: 18 March 2012

Acceptance Notification: 15 April, 2012

Camera ready deadline: 30 April 2012

Program Committee Co‐Chairs

Nancy Ide (Vassar College)

Fei Xia (University of Washington)

Program Committee (to be confirmed)

Eneko Agirre (University of the Basque Country)

Collin Baker (ICSI/UC Berkeley)

Timothy Baldwin (University of Melbourne)

Emily Bender (University of Washington)

Chris Callison-Burch (Johns Hopkins University)

Nicoletta Calzolari (ILC/CNR)

Steve Cassidy (Macquarie University)

Christopher Cieri (Linguistic Data Consortium/University of Pennsylvania)

Mona Diab (Columbia University)

Stefanie Dipper (Ruhr-Universitaet Bochum)

Richard Eckart (Darmstadt University of Technology)

Tomaz Erjavec (Josef Stefan Institute)

Katrin Erk (University of Texas at Austin)

Alex Chengyu Fang (City University of Hong Kong)

Christiane Fellbaum (Princeton University)

Dan Flickinger (Stanford University)

Anete Frank (Universität Heidelberg)

Udo Hahn (Friedrich‐Schiller‐Universität Jena)

Chu‐Ren Huang (Hong Kong Polytechnic)

Aravind Joshi (University of Pennsylvania)

Lluís Marquez (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)

Adam Meyers (New York University)

Joakim Nivre (Vaxjoniversity and Uppsala University)

Eric Nyberg (Carnegie‐Mellon University)

Antonio Pareja‐Lora (UCM / ATLAS-UNED)

Martha Palmer (University of Colorado)

Christopher Potts (Stanford University)

Sameer Pradhan (BBN Technologies)

James Pustejovsky (Brandeis University)

Owen Rambow (Columbia University)

Manfred Stede (Universität Potsdam)

Mihai Surdeanu (Yahoo! Research, Barcelona)

Theresa Wilson (University of Edinburgh)

Andreas Witt (IDS Mannheim)

Keywords: Accepted papers list. Acceptance Rate. EI Compendex. Engineering Index. ISTP index. ISI index. Impact Factor.
Disclaimer: ourGlocal is an open academical resource system, which anyone can edit or update. Usually, journal information updated by us, journal managers or others. So the information is old or wrong now. Specially, impact factor is changing every year. Even it was correct when updated, it may have been changed now. So please go to Thomson Reuters to confirm latest value about Journal impact factor.